After my last post on mysql quality, I was wondering (and lot of comments I’ve got confirm the fact it was a good question .. 🙂 ) if it was due to the release 5.1, or if it was historical bugs.
So, I’ve run the same tools, with the same compilation options and compared the version of mysql 4.1,5.0 and 5.1. Each time I took the last source version available.

The raw results are :

Mysql 4.0 : 4.8k errors
among them :
FORWARD NULL :59
RESOURCE_LEAK:32

Mysql 5.0 : 2.4k errors
among them :
FORWARD NULL :70
RESOURCE_LEAK:39

Mysql 5.1 : 2.5K errors
among them :
FORWARD_NULL: 77
RESOURCE_LEAK: 45

After a quick look, we can see that the type of errors change over time, I think it’s due to maturity of developers (the do less ‘simple’ mistake) which increase.

There was a big clean done between 4.x and 5.0.x versions. But, since the beginning of version 5, lot of code added, introducing new bugs (nearly 5% more), without any stabilization actions.

